TeslaLeesieoh · CC BY-SA 4.0Electric medium SUV · Australian-market specification
Interactive Australian model comparison
Select a current Australian-market battery-electric Tesla or BYD model from the options below to compare published range, charging, performance, drivetrain, towing and warranty details.
Build your comparison
TeslaLeesieoh · CC BY-SA 4.0Electric medium SUV · Australian-market specification
BYDBYD AustraliaElectric medium SUV · Australian-market specification
| Specification | Tesla Model Y | BYD SEALION 7 |
|---|---|---|
| Vehicle type | Electric medium SUV | Electric medium SUV |
| Variant | Premium Rear-Wheel Drive | Premium |
| Powertrain | Battery electric | Battery electric |
| Seats | 5 | 5 |
| Published range | 466 km (WLTP) | 482 km (WLTP combined) |
| Battery | Usable capacity not published by Tesla | 82.56 kWh Blade Battery |
| Drive | Rear-wheel drive | Rear-wheel drive |
| Power | Not published by Tesla | 230 kW |
| 0–100 km/h | 5.9 sec | 6.7 sec |
| Peak DC charging | Not published on the current Australian source page | 150 kW |
| AC charging | Type 2; maximum rate not stated on model page | 11 kW Type 2 |
| Braked towing | Not stated on the current model specification page | No braked towing figure published in brochure |
| Vehicle warranty | 5 years / unlimited km | 6 years / 150,000 km |
| Battery warranty | 8 years / 160,000 km; minimum 70% retention | 8 years / 160,000 km; conditions apply |
The options shown are battery-electric models currently marketed as new by the Australian manufacturers; announced or coming-soon vehicles and plug-in hybrids are excluded. Figures vary by variant, wheel size, model year and conditions. Sources checked 15 September 2026.
Sources: Tesla Australia Model Y specifications (checked 15 September 2026) · BYD Australia SEALION 7 specifications (checked 15 September 2026).
What the brands stand for
Tesla concentrates the experience around a minimal cabin, app control, over-the-air updates, integrated route planning and its charging ecosystem. Australia’s current new-car range centres on Model 3, Model Y and Model Y L variants.
BYD’s Australian battery-electric range spans a city hatch, small and medium SUVs, a sedan and multiple battery and performance grades. Plug-in hybrids are intentionally outside this comparison.
Real charging time depends on the charging curve, charger output, temperature and arrival state of charge—not only the maximum kW figure.
Compare service schedules, tyre sizes, repair networks, parts lead times, app features, home charging and the warranty for the exact variant.
Insurers can consider vehicle value, performance, repair complexity, parts, sensors, garaging, driver history and annual use.
Go deeper
Continue to a model guide where one is available, otherwise review the manufacturer source used for this comparison.